The Trinity River offers a unique setting for a transformative new river park in Dallas.

Without impeding the Trinity River’s primary function of flood control, the 200-acre Harold Simmons Park will introduce a range of new recreational opportunities as well as dramatically improve the performance of the River’s depleted natural ecosystems. The Conservancy has assembled a multidisciplinary team of national, regional, and local experts to create a design for a new urban park that establishes the Trinity River as the heart of Dallas.

Design & Planning

Leveraging the learning from workshops, surveys, and conversations, the design team brings the community’s input to life. The team includes vast expertise in best practices of urban park design, landscape and hydrology.

The Trinity River Corridor LGC, the City of Dallas, and the United States Army Corps of Engineers are also a part of the design process providing valuable input and approvals.

Update (August 20, 2020): Trinity Park Conservancy selects WEISS/MANFREDI as design architect to reimagine 106 W Commerce Street. Dallas firm Malone Maxwell Dennehy Architects (MMDA) will serve as local architect for the project.

Harold Simmons Park Design Team

Led by Marcus Shropshire, Director of Park Design at the Trinity Park Conservancy, the team includes:

Michael Van Valkenburgh & Associates
JQ Engineering
Salcedo Group
Gardiner + Theobald

Advisory Committees

To ensure design aligns with the priorities of Dallas communities, the Conservancy launched a series of planning studies. To advise on these efforts, the Conservancy has established two volunteer committees. These committees include local experts in design, community advocacy, Dallas neighborhoods, the arts, urban planning, development, and landscape architecture to ensure a diverse representation from across our city.

Community Engagement & Inclusive Neighborhoods Committee

The Community Engagement & Inclusive Development Committee advocates for inclusive community development around the Park and is committed to equitable development as a pillar of design. Members of the committee include: Darren James (chair), Cris Jordan, Angela Faz, Ken Reese, Marguerite Hoffman, Byron Sanders, Tynesia Boyea-Robinson, Nicole Acosta, Roy Lopez and James Armstrong.

Design Advisory Committee

The Design Advocacy Committee focuses on the unique design needs of the Dallas landscape. Members of the committee include: Robert Meckfessel (chair), Kevin Sloan, Lucilo Pena, Dr. Adrian Parr, and Julie McGilvray.